Parish Groups

Extraordinary Ministers of the Eucharist 

Since the Second Vatican Council, extraordinary ministers assist the priest with distribution of the Eucharist.  Ministers bring Holy Communion to ill or house-bound parishioners on the first Friday of each month. Every Sunday a Minister brings Holy Communion to the residents of  the Cowper Care Centre on Cowper Road.
If you wish to become a special Minister of the Eucharist please contact the parish office.

Ministers of the Word

Over thirty readers, Ministers of the Word are involved, under the guidance of Paula Slattery. They read at all Masses and other liturgical events.
If you wish to become a Minister of the Word please contact the Parish Office.

Parish Liturgy Group

Public worship is known as ‘liturgy’. The Parish Liturgy group assists with Community Worship – above all at the Celebration of the Eucharist. The group aims to assist in the public worship of God in our parish, to be involved in the animation of our liturgies and to encourage greater participation of our parishioners in our liturgies. The group welcomes and needs new members who will share their giftedness with our Parish Community so that we can continue to build God’s Kingdom among us.
Current Liturgy group members are:
Carmel Shanahan, (Chair),
Sr Teresa McAllister,
Margaret Brennan,
Catherine Carew,
Gabrielle Marry and
Fr. Joseph Doran.

Sacristan team

Margaret Brennan and David K’Eogh are the parish sacristans.
Margaret is on duty on Monday, Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday and David is on duty on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

Funeral Team

Gabrielle Marry and Carmel Shanahan assist the bereaved at the preparing the funeral liturgy and  are present during the liturgy to guide the participants.

Baptism Team

This is a team of young parents under the leadership of Anne Dollard which prepares parents for baptism. Parents and godparents are invited to a meeting in the sacristy prior to the baptism of their child.

Eucharistic Adoration

Adoration takes place Monday to Saturday from 10.30 until 11am. This is a time of silent prayer and meditation.

Legion of Mary

Founded by Frank Duff the Legion has spread worldwide. The local praesidium meets every Wednesday evening at 7.30pm in the parish office and engages in parish visitation.
They welcome new members.

The Patricians

This group meets monthly, in the parish office, to discuss a topic of faith and is under the auspices of the Legion of Mary.
New members are welcomed.

St. Joseph’s Young Priests Society

This group meets monthly under the leadership of Dermot MacDonald. The group issues “The Sheaf”, a newsletter on the activities of the National society. They too have a topic for discussion on a faith issue. They meet in the parish office on the second Monday night each month.

Rosary Group

This group meets after 10am Mass on Mondays and organise the daily recitation of the Rosary for the needs of the parish.

Divine Mercy Group

This group meets in the church every Friday at 3.00pm.

Altar Society

This is group of dedicated ladies who oversee the flower arrangements for the Church and altar. On the occasion of a wedding, Easter and Christmas they take on the responsibility for the floral decoration of the liturgies. The current members are
Elizabeth Mahon, Gabrielle Marry, Helen Rutledge, Mary Markham, Sheila de Courcy and Marion Keogh.

Church Cleaners

There is a group of very committed people who come together after 10.00am Mass every Monday morning to clean the church.
New volunteers are always welcome.


David K’Eogh (choral leader) and Albert Llussa i Tora (organist) are responsible for the music at the 6.15 pm Vigil Mass on Saturdays.
New members are always welcome.

Beechwood Avenue Family Mass Choir

Madelene Grant Nelson is the Musical Director of the Beechwood Avenue Childrens/Youth Choir.  They sing and read at the 11.30 am Sunday Mass.
New members are most welcome.

Irish Mass Choir

The Sunday 10 am mass is noted for its professional Irish Music. This group organise the readers, and liturgy of the Mass as Gaeilge.

Beechwood Avenue Parish Pastoral Community Centre

The committee consists of:
John Stanton, Chair (parish)
Louis Eves: treasurer(parish)
Fr. Joseph Doran, CC (parish)
Anita Fitzgibbon (parish)
Patrick O’Connor (parish)
Philip Daly (community)
Mary McCormack (community)
Bernard Ryan (community)

The Archdiocese of Dublin bought the site of the Centre in 1926. The Parish Centre was established in 1979. and the first AGM was held on 23 February 1980. It was during the war allowed to be used as a series of allotments at the junction of Mountainview Road and Edenvale Road. It was originally intended to be a Presbytery to the Church. Four members of this committee are elected every three years at an AGM-, four appointed by St. Laurence O’Toole trust, and ex-officio Fr. Bernard Kennedy, ADM, and nominee. Its function is to manage the centre for the parish. Its activities include social items such as karate, youth Club, Meals on wheels; bridge, drama school, kindergarten and pre school activities, AA meetings and are available for use. The committee meets eight times each year. There is also an AGM to which all are invited. 

Meals on Wheels

Many of the parishioners receive meals on a regular basis and are served from the Parish Centre. A committee of dedicated cooks and drivers oversee this important social work.
Helpers are always required on a voluntary capacity.

Cowper Care Centre

There is a weekly Mass at 11.30am each Wednesday in Cowper Care on Cowper Road. 

St. Vincent de Paul

The local Conference of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul meet on Thursday evenings in the parish office. They provide confidential assistance to those in need.

Beechwood Refugee Group

Chair: Jane Wong
Committee members:
Sr Cora Richardson
Fr.Bernard Kennedy
Albert Llussa i Tora

This group was formed in December 2015- in response to Alyan being washed up on shore of Europe and plight of refugees. Pope Francis asked parishes to respond. List of activities to date are featured on home page Refugees section.